For the Greater Goods

A lifestyle blog for the conscious consumer

#tossthetube

Leave a comment

The other night while watching the TV show Extreme Weight Loss and eating a mini Kit Kat, I saw a commercial for the tube-less toilet paper rolls from Scott.

17 billion rolls is an incredible amount! The commercial states that that is enough to fill the Empire State Building twice, which is kind of scary, but this also got me thinking about what other things could be filled with 17 billion toilet paper rolls…

I looked up the volume of the Empire State Building and found it is 37 million cubic feet. So I’m assuming 17 billion toilet paper rolls take up about 74 million cubic feet (twice the Empire Sate Building). Therefore, 17 billion toilet paper rolls could fill:

Spaceship Earth

Spaceship Earth at Epcot aka the giant golf ball thing that no one realizes is actually a ride (2,200,000 cubic feet) approximately 33 timesSydney Opera Housethe Sydney Opera House (880,000 cubic feet) about 84 times

Goodyear Blimp

the Goodyear Blimp (203,000 cubic feet) almost 365 timesBig Ben

Big Ben (164,200 cubic feet) about 450 times

I clearly have a little too much time on my hands, but I’ll admit before today I never really thought about the environmental impact of toilet paper rolls. And I’m sure this never even crosses most people’s mind, but this commercial definitely gets the conversation started. You can check out some more information here and make your pledge to #tossthetube to get a coupon for some tube free tp.

Leave a comment